



# Helmut Frister elected new chair of the German Ethics Council

Berlin, 15 November 2024

During its first meeting in new formation, the German Ethics Council elected the law professor Helmut Frister as Council chair.

The neuroscientist Susanne Schreiber, the philosopher and digital ethicist Judith Simon, and the medical doctor and ethicist Eva Winkler were appointed as deputy chairs.

Bärbel Bas, President of the German Bundestag, congratulated the new chair and board. In her speech, she emphasised the importance of the Ethics Council: "For us members of the German Bundestag, your work is a great help. You help to objectify some emotional debates. You point out developments that must not be overlooked. And you point out conflicts that we have to negotiate here in parliament." The President of the Bundestag praised the Council's work to date and encouraged it to continue to focus on important ethical debates, especially in times of polarisation and scepticism towards science.

In the further course of the meeting, the Council members took initial decisions on the future work programme: The next annual meeting of the German Ethics Council in June 2025 will address the topic of solidarity.

Photos of those elected, the President of the Bundestag and the entire Council can be downloaded from www.ethikrat.org/mediathek (photo credit: German Ethics Council / photo: Christian Thiel).

## Background

The German Ethics Council is to have 26 members, half of whom are nominated by the Federal Government and half by the German Bundestag. The members of the Council are appointed by the President of the Bundestag. The current Ethics Council has 25 members only, because the AfD parliamentary group's personnel proposal was rejected during one of the plenary sessions in the Bundestag.

The members of the council serve their four-year mandate on a voluntary basis and may be reappointed no more than once. They represent scientific, medical, theological, philosophical, ethical, social, economic and legal concerns in a special way. In addition to scientists from the above-mentioned fields, the council also includes people who are particularly familiar with ethical issues in the life sciences. They should reflect the diversity of opinions in society.

The German Ethics Council was established in April 2008. Its work is based on the Ethics Council Act of July 2007. The Council is to pursue the ethical, social, scientific, medical and legal questions as well as the anticipated consequences for individuals and society that arise in connection with research and development, particularly in the field of life sciences and their application to humans.

Further information on the members, the working methods of the Ethics Council and the Ethics Council Act can be found at www.ethikrat.org.

#### Members

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Jutta Allmendinger Regional bishop Dr. phil. Petra Bahr Prof. Dr. phil. Cornelia Betsch Prof. Dr. iur. Hans-Georg Dederer Dr. rer. nat. Uta Eser Prof. Dr. Aldo Faisal Prof. Dr. iur. Helmut Frister Prof. Dr. rer. pol. Nils Goldschmidt Prof. Dr. theol. Elisabeth Gräb-Schmidt Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Armin Grunwald Prof. Dr. med. Winfried Hardinghaus Dr. phil. Ute Kalender Hedy Kerek-Bodden Prof. Dr. phil. Armin Nassehi Prof. Dr. phil. habil. Annette Riedel Prof. Dr. iur. Dr. phil. Frauke Rostalski Prof. Dr. theol. Kerstin Schlögl-Flierl Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Susanne Schreiber Dr. med. Josef Schuster Prof. Dr. phil. Mark Schweda Prof. Dr. phil. Judith Simon Prof. Dr. phil. Muna Tatari Prof. Dr. iur. Gregor Thüsing Prof. Dr. Achim Wambach Prof. Dr. med. Dr. phil. Eva Winkler

### Press Contact

Katrin Arnholz Phone: +49/30/20370-246 Email: presse@ethikrat.org

#### Office

Jägerstraße 22/23 D-10117 Berlin Phone: +49/30/20370-242 Fax: +49/30/20370-252 Email: kontakt@ethikrat.org Website: www.ethikrat.org